to film or not to film?

the Minolta SRT201 is a cool and sturdy little mechanical camera Last night I was locked in a dark room with two beautiful ladies. No really. Ok so there was another dude there and it happened to be only for a few minutes, but it was fun while it lasted.

Yes, actually it was the dark room in photo class and we were practicing to load film on that little reel that goes in the plastic tank. If you’ve ever tried developing film, then you know what I am talking about.

Sure it looks easy, and it is, but you have to do it in complete darkness and it ain’t quite as easy as it looks in total darkness let me tell you.

Anyhow, I am starting to feel that I hate film. Why would anyone go to the trouble of shooting film when digital is so much easier and gives you similar or better results? I spent the better part of this afternoon in the hot summer fun trying to load a roll onto my Minolta manual camera and I don’t know whether I did it correctly. With my digital SLR I can just look at the results, but I have to shoot a whole roll by Monday and I am not even sure I loaded the film correctly. I docked into the public library for a sec and looked at a cool book by KODAK to reference the subject, it seemed to help, but who the hell knows?

Anyway, back to the girls, they were making small chit chat about how much it costs to do their nails and Earth shattering topics like that. Just to throw them off I looked surprised when one of them said it cost close to $35 monthly to maintain them, I said “That’s the cost of 8 comic books or two tanks of gas” and they looked at me for a sec like I had just landed from another planet. I love to do shit like that

Leave a Reply

