new action shots (what d’ya think?)

When I was a staff writer at Mt. SAC I won first place for sports writing 2 semesters in a row, the first semester I entered two articles and the judges could not decide so I tied with myself for first place honors. The last time it was especially rewarding because one of the judges was Doug Spoon who was formerly sports editor at the Tribune and teaches reporting at Cal Poly.

I don’t mention this to brag, it’s just that I anticipated taking an advanced reporting class with him at Cal Poly so it was especially cool to receive an award on a contest he judged. Nowadays though, I have been mostly freelancing for Citrus’ magazine and shooting sports. Here are some photos from the latest edition of the Clarion where I photographed women’s soccer. The bottom shot was blown up and used as a page 1 photo. I was pretty grateful my friend lent me his telephoto lens, or I don’t think they would have come out as nice, though I found out that I could get some good shots from near the sidelines.

I got pretty lucky that it wasn’t sunny, a bit hazy so I didn’t have to worry too much about shadows.

Getting good results with moving action is very tricky but I think that with practice I can improve some more. I hope to keep getting assignments so I get the chance to practice more.

Leave a Reply

