Sounds of the season


Well not exactly. I was uploading mp3s into my player the other day because I was tired of listening to the same old tunes when I came accross my Van Halen albums. I ripped some into the player and decided that I would share with  you guys some of my favorites just in case you haven’t heard some but would like to get into them. So according to me, these are some of the most memorable albums EVER!

Even though most people would disagree with me, 1986’s 5150 album is Van  Halen’s unparalled masterpiece. While former lead singer David Lee Roth parted ways with the band (not amicably to say the least) Eddie and the boys made one of the few seamless transitions to another lead singer in rock history when they acquired Sammy Hagar to be their next frontman. Hagar could never fill Roth’s shoes, how could he? Diamond Dave was one of the most flamboyant lead singers since Mick Jagger pranced on a stage, but what Sammy lacked in style he more than made up in technical chops (he could also play guitar) and he was obviously gelling with his new bandmates. It resulted in VH’s first new #1 album.

5150’s sound differs from earlier VH albums, while it’s a little more on the soft rock side than previous offerings, Eddie doesn’t shy away from his fierce and legendary ax grinding. I heard some radio d.j.s say it has a “Journey” sound to it, but to describe it that way would be to do it a great disservice. Like most rock albums of the era it’s got a haunting ballad (Love Walks In, about aliens!) but other tunes exhibit the band’s stylistic musical flare such as the title track and the wonderfull and catchy “Why Can’t This be love?” and the radio and stadium friendly “Dreams.”

In fact, when that clever intro to “Why Can’t This be love” comes accross my car radio, I just turn up the volume and get ready to jam. Oh yea! BTW 5150 is the police code for a crazy person and you’d be crazy not to give this record a chance.

2 Responses to Sounds of the season

  1. RV3 says:

    For a second there I thought your post was about the Golden Globes, but then realized that image was of Van Halen’s emblem.

  2. tyroshutterbug says:

    yea right!

Leave a Reply

