The great MMORPG debate: DDO vs. WOW

Lately I have been testing out a lot of different MMORPGs during my down time. (That’s massive multiplayer online role playing game for all you non geeks.)

I’ve never been a big gamer, but occasionally I have been known to buy a game or two for my computer. Back in the day, my brother and I used to play the o.g. Warcraft: Orcs vs. Humans and then graduated to Warcraft III.

This past holiday season I got a gift card to Best Buy so I used it to get a copy of Wow. Blizzard games allows you a free 10 day trial to try out the game, but if you buy it you can also play for a month for free. Most MMORPGS are subscription fee based, meaning you have to pay a monthly fee to continue playing.

After I got a bit tired of Warcraft, I moved on to Dungeons and Dragons Online Stormreach and I am currently enjoying that one, even though I am just a third level Paladin.

I am thinking of getting Guild Wars. The game is $30 but when you buy it you purchase a key which allows you to play the game forever without any subscription fees. Which game do you guys play? Which do you think is better?

Here’s a funny video from The Big Bang Theory, which is one of my favorite new shows. It’s about a group of physicists who move into this hot girl next door to them and how they interact. I love this show’s references to geeky things. Here’s a great scene of them playing a MMORPG.

4 Responses to The great MMORPG debate: DDO vs. WOW

  1. RV3 says:

    At Christmas I received many gift cards from student and friends. Among them:
    4 –Starbucks
    1 –Burke Williams
    1 –Bed Bath & Beyond
    1 –Subway (sandwich place)
    1 –Amazon.com

  2. tweak68k! says:

    I actually like that show too. I hope it stays on for a few more seasons.

  3. ekspekt says:

    interesting post, will come back here, bookmarked your site

Leave a Reply

