Economic recovery

Wow it’s hard to believe that almost a year has gone by since I started this blog. At the time I was taking a photo class at Citrus College (we were working with film mostly) since then I have become more familiar with the process but am mostly using digital.

As May comes to a close, thanks to uncle sam’s economic recovery I got a check and was able to buy a decent digital SLR. A Nikon D40 with 18-55 mm lense to be exact.  I don’t really mind spending money on it since I view it as a good investment for my career as I take a lot of pictures for my job with the newspaper.

In fact, I was shooting some scholarship award presentations just last night at the latest La Puente council meeting.

Nothing else really going on right now, my latest comic reviews are still being posted at comicsbulletin.com and I am still trying to decide if I am going to attend next month’s comic con in San Diego. I really wanted to last year, but I was majorly bummed by the intrusion of the Hollywood studios into comic’s biggest stage.

I was also offered a job with the City of Huntington Park editing and writing for their newsletter. It doesn’t really pay great, only about $55 a week and I would have to drive out there twice a month, but I would get my photos printed. The best thing is it would allow me to cut back hours at my job at school to concentrate some time on my career. 

Leave a Reply

