Summer is here

I was going to write a review of the new Hulk movie, but since I haven’t seen it yet, I give you this piece of artwork “Super Heroes at the Movies” it’s a little dated, Wizard comissioned it from artist Greg Horne in 2003 so it has that year’s version of the Hulk and no Iron Man yet. If you look carefully, you can see Howard the Duck is being crushed behind the Hulk. Ha ha very funny. I also love that Superman is eating Milk Dudes (to avoid unathorized product placement perhaps?) and Batman is on the phone. This piece of artwork was brought to my attention in the excellent 200th anniversary issue of Wizard.

With the hot weather we got this weekend it finally hit me. Summer is here. I can be officially miserable. I am sorry but I hate summer. It is my least favorite season of the year which is ironic since I was born in August. It’s seriously way too hot in the SGV, about 10 degrees hotter than L.A. proper.

I was bummed out because I found out that a lot of people are taking off part of the summer. I went to a luncheon for work on friday and found out my supervisor is taking off to Tahoe and to hawaii. My best friend from HS is going to Florida and Puerto Rico. My friend who graduated from UCLA, her parents are taking her to Puerto Rico for a few weeks. My other friend usually goes to Mexico and my sister’s best friend is going out of town as well. What is it about summer that drives people out? They all suddenly become explorers and adventurers. Is it the low airfaire prices?

My brother showed up unexpectly at our door yesterday which was a good thing since we were celebrating father’s day. He was on his way back from a trip to Minesotta. He went with his friend for a job and drove through Iowa and Wyoming and he hit a deer on his way back with the truck because deer crossings are very common in those montainous areas.

I have until the end of this month to decide if I am going to San Diego for comic con. I can easily make the arrangements but have not heard back from my friend Adam and I really don’t want to go by myself.

 

Leave a Reply

