MMORPG news

Cryptic Studios has released a trailer for their upcoming Star Trek online MMORPG and it looks awesome! See for yourselves:

You better believe I will be playing this game once it is released since according to info from mmorpg.com, you will be able to play a number of races including human, Vulcan, Andorian, Klingon, Orion, Gorn, and several others. You will also be able to create your own race with its own custom look and attributes. How freaking cool would it be to play a Gorn hunting down federation red shirts?

According to the info released by the game’s creators, the game is set approximately 30 years after the events in Star Trek Nemesis. The game starts in 2409. Technology has advanced and the galaxy is a much more volatile place. Some of the ST games I’ve played recently haven’t been very good, including Star Trek Conquest, so I have really high hopes for this one.

In other MMO news, I promised I would report back on whether LOTRO is worth your MMORPG subscription dollars. I would have to say yes, but don’t expect it to be 100 percent like Wow. Yet, this is a fun game and even though I have only 2 days left of my 14 day trial, I am almost done with the introduction and have reached level 7 which is a drop in the bucket compared to some of these long time players. Then again, Unlike others, I don’t have 12 or 16 hours to kill in front of a computer playing a game, I’m good for about 1 or 2 each night if lucky.

I could be wrong about this, but you have to have even finished the intro in order to activate the social panel and join a fellowship. The final quest in the intro has you following Dwalin and defending him inside Skorgrim’s tomb. I took a cool screenshot of my character fending off a couple of goblins but then I got greedy and tried to capture Dwalin after he destroys a gate entrance. It’s kind of too dark to see, but you can make him out saying, “Stand back now!”

The problem with defending Dwalin is despite his use of magic energies, he’s a 5th level character and he’s old, so I was like twice as powerful as he was, he held his own for awhile but when you’re taking on 4 evil doers, he tends to get himself killed and you have to do the final quest more than once to complete it. I’m pretty sure I will be finishing it before the trial period ends though. So the final verdict?

Yes I would have to say that LOTRO is almost as fun or even more fun than DDO Stormreach (where you seem to fight a lot of Kobolds in the early levels) and though not as engaging as Wow, I only played one race, so maybe it would be fun to play other races.

Leave a Reply

