football musings

It’s early September and that can only mean one thing: A big chunk of my life is dominated by football.
Normally I’d be presenting my thurs-fri quaterbacking with impressions of the comics which came out this week, but if you would like to read those I have moved them to the comicvine.com site where I blog under Hunter killer. The reason for the change is to take advantage of that site’s excellent resources and its devoted following of comic book readers and creators.

Back to the gridiron, in addition to shooting a soccer game earlier today,  I went to cover West Covina versus El Rancho tonight. The Bulldogs are coming off a 6-6 season and were trying to improve on that in a week zero contest which featured plenty of offensive firepower, but a pretty one sided affair. WC won 36-15. The SGV Tribune has ranked the Bulldos in their top 10, they come in as the #7 ranked team.

In the college front, it’s all about UCLA and Ohio State for me. I am a long time fan of the Buckeyes, simply because they have such a solid program year in and year out but this season I am also going to follow the Bruins with their new coach and especially since Kevin Craft is the quarterback. Craft put up spectacular passing stats while with Mt.SAC last season, so I have to support a fellow Mt. SAC alumnus. Don’t be surprised if I make it out to the Rose Bowl this season at least once to see Craft and the Bruins play.

Of course, the Chargers play their home opener against Carolina on Sunday. Sports Illustrated and many other magazines have made SD a preseason favorite to go to the Super Bowl. It’s a great time to be a football fan!

Leave a Reply

