My favorite old school PC games

Fallout_01

Lately on my free time, such as it is, I have been playing MMORPGS and other computer games. I have always been a PC gamer, going back to the days of old DOS based games, even before Windows.

I am probably dating myself too much with this post, but you know what? I fondly remember playing a lot of these and even though most gamers are console crazy I bought my PS2 to play dvds and rarely even used it for gaming, it got most of its use when my nephews came to visit.

However, PC gaming is another story, so I thought it would be fun to reminisce about the old games I used to play and remember fondly, in no particular chronological order but starting with the original Fallout (circa 1997) I vividly recall going out to Target and plopping down $50 for the original Fallout by Interplay software when it was brand new and I played it for hours on end.

I think what was most appealing was its in game story, its genious intro and its superb graphics which were top of the line for its day. Killing mutants, exploring a post apocolyptic world was never as much fun as it was during the good old days of this futuristic RPG. In comparison to today’s Fallout 3, the original, with its clunky turn-based system and old school graphics probably feels ancient, but if you never played this futuristic post nuclear game back in the day, I truly feel sorry for you and have to wonder, what did you waste your idle non-working hours doing?? The o.g. Fallout is a classic and it probably inspired such future games like Bioshock and others of  its ilk, and as such is one of the best PC games ever, in my opinion. I rate it 4 stars out of 5 for its playability factor

2 Responses to My favorite old school PC games

  1. r4 games says:

    Hi all…
    I am playing games on pc and i like to more about gaming…
    I like this article because it’s about gaming…

  2. hostile17 says:

    what PC games do you play?

Leave a Reply

